Lets talk about the Trees shall we…

Image

I love Trees. I love that they stand before we ever arrived on this earth and that they can stand long after we are gone. I love their immovability. I love their blossom and their evergreen boughs. Trees to me represent so many awesome things. The name of my blog comes from my love of trees. The name of my Etsy shop comes from my love of Trees and some of the things that I make.

https://www.etsy.com/shop/CreationsfromtheTree

I make those wire trees that you see above. When I make them for someone or someone buys them from my shop or gets them as a gift they come with a tag that has the following inscription:

The concept of a tree of life can be seen in science, religion, philosophy, and mythology. A tree of life is a common motif in various world theologies, mythologies, and philosophies. The tree has been used as a mystical concept alluding to the interconnection of all life on our planet; and a metaphor for common descent in the evolutionary sense. I believe it is more than that. Trees can be a metaphor for our lives. A tree starts out in much the same way we do, small and hidden, but it will burst out with roots before too long. Those original roots don’t change much, they just have an ever evolving impact, but trees grow more than just down, they grow up as well. When a tree starts to develop branches, those branches will follow many different paths and go in many different directions. The direction of a trees branch is almost entirely decided by the sun, but in our lives, all the branches stem from the choices that we make. I think the best that we can do in this life is to make those choices and hope for a jewel at the end, much like on this tree. All the branches eventually end, just like the roads that life takes us down, but perhaps we will be able to take something precious from each of the choices we make and the paths we take.

That sums up my philosophy of life and trees as a metaphor for that life.

Do you have a metaphor for life?

Happy Saturday!

Jessie

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

