Unleashing our inner creative genius

            This has been a whirlwind of a month. First of all it is April, and if you are anything like me that means that tax obligations weigh heavily on your mind. Between that and the trip I took last week my normal creative juices just seemed to come to a screeching halt. I’m such a routine junkie and I need that for all of my crafting since I have two day jobs, a passel of dogs and a husband to keep up with. It seems to me that the creative process gets a lot of press. There is the creative process as the world sees it and then what I do to help me get back into the swing of craftiness after having something of a forced crafters block.

Image

What the creative process looks like to science

            When I decided that I wanted to write on this topic my first thought was to Google “creative process”. Turns out I needed a stout cup of coffee to even begin to decipher some of the things that popped up from that search. Most of it was…well…not very creative. I found several general creative process lists. All of them were rather boring and not at all how I approach crafting and making things. Everyone has a creative process. This may sound like an over generalization but I believe it is true. Our creative process comes into play not only when we sit down and sew that truly beautiful quilt, or when we make those truly special earrings, but in every day problem solving.

Image

A much more amusing take on it

Even blogging requires some creativity. Below I have included some steps that I take is my process.

             Image

Step 1: Coffee (or other morning beverage)

On mornings that I know I am going to get to spend a significant portion of the day crafting waking up extra early is an exciting thing. The first thing I do is start a pot of coffee. If you aren’t a coffee or a tea drinker then juice is a good alternative.

Step 2: Blog surfing/Blog writing

            This may sound strange, but I often find that writing about whatever I decide to write about that day helps me to start thinking about what I want to make that day or what I need to make in the case of custom orders. There are so many encouraging and inspiring blogs out there. Some of them have nothing to do with crafting but I find that they put me in the right frame of mind.

Image

Step 3: Breath some fresh air

            As cheesy as this may sound, it is vital to me. I don’t live in the best neighborhood, but even sitting on my front porch with my coffee for five minutes improves my total productivity and creativity for the day. You could take your crafting stuff to a park and work there a while. I have a bag that is reserved just for packing a few things to work on in the park. If you have one within walking distance that is even better.

Image

Step 4: Pinterest

            Now, this is not a license to copy every idea you see from Pinterest, but it is a great place to be inspired. If you just can’t seem to get in the crafting mood, go there. Check it out. It is full of great ideas and tons of resources for the cleverly crafty mind.

Image

Step 5: A Clean Workspace

            Alright, so I am the worst about this. I literally have fabric, buttons, beads and every other crafty implement to be imagined everywhere in my house. Granted most of it is semi organized, but my sewing station needs to be put back into a semblance order. Having a clean, organized, crafting space is a must. I know that I am much more inclined to make something new if I don’t feel I have to dread the clean-up process from 10 old projects. Don’t let that stuff pile up!

And finally:

Step 6: Try something new or finish something old!

            These may sound like conflicting ends of the spectrum but hear me out. Every time I set a project aside when I come back to it that is the most satisfying feeling in the world to complete it. When I am stuck, I find that trying something new is great for inspiring me to do things that I might now otherwise do with the crafting mediums I normally use.

 

So what steps do you take to unleash you inner creative genius? What do you do when you are feeling creative or to work up to a day of crafting?

 

4 thoughts on “Unleashing our inner creative genius

  1. Thank you for this! I’ve found myself in a rut both in writing and in general creativity, and I like your list of things you do to get your process going. Some of those things are already in my arsenal, and others I’ll have to try. Keeping a clean workspace is particularly challenging for me, but I can see how it would help.

    Also, I’ve really enjoyed your blog and nominated you for a Liebster Award. You can check it out here: http://normalisthenewweird.wordpress.com/2013/04/25/the-liebster-award/ and participate if you’d like. If not, no big deal, but I wanted you to know that your blog is great and I think people should read it!

    Like

  2. Great advice, and cute diagrams. What I like to do is gather a bunch of supplies, like a canvas, paints, and brushes. Then I keep a folder labeled ideas that I flip through for inspiration. I also love Pinterest for ideas. I’m also very lucky to have a bunch of creative friends who all do something fun and different. Sometimes we go on field trips or meet at someones house to learn a new craft. My favorite is our monthly lunches where we have show and tell. A lot of sharing is important and fun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

