Stretching Pennies: Vintage Suitcase display

Good afternoon all,

This week will be a continuation of my new series; Stretching Pennies. I started out last week talking about my awesome trip to Thift shop adventure throughout my area. This week I want to highlight my new craft show display from vintage luggage.

DSC02208 DSC02209

Here is the suit case. I picked this bad baby up from a yard sale within walking distance of my house for a meager $2.00. After leaving it open and cleaning the inside several times it was clean enough to start working with.

The first thing I did was rip out the pockets and place stuffing in the bottom of the case.

DSC02207

After mutilating a $3.00 Walmart pillow (cheaper than buying a bag of stuffing), I cut out a piece of coordinating fabric and laid it on top of the stuffing.

DSC02206

You can make it as poofy as you would like. I make mine somewhat puffy, but it could have been puffier. Next heat up the glue gun. Glue around the top and bottom edges of the luggage first. Like so:

DSC02210 DSC02212

Next I cut out some pretty lace to hold things in on windy days and add to the prettiness of the overall display.

DSC02211

Lastly I added a piece of lace across the top like so:

DSC02214

This is how it looked when full of E-reader cases:

DSC02228

All together this display piece costs were

Vintage luggage $2.00

Stuffing $3.00

Fabric (also thrifted) $.025

Lace (given to me) $0.00

Hot glue sticks $0.25

Total cost $5.50

How are you stretching your pennies?

Have a great Sunday!

Peace

13 thoughts on “Stretching Pennies: Vintage Suitcase display

  1. Howdy fantastic website! Does running a blog like this require a large amount of work?

    I have absolutely no understanding of programming but I had been
    hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyhow, should you have any ideas or tips for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off topic however I just had to ask. Kudos!

    Like

  2. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.

    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa?
    My site discusses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you are interested feel free to send me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Great blog by the way!

    Like

  3. Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your
    blog. You have some really good articles and I think I
    would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of
    the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please shoot me an email if interested. Regards!

    Like

  4. Normally I don’t read post on blogs, but I would like to say that
    this write-up very pressured me to check out and do it! Your writing taste
    has been surprised me. Thank you,quite great article.

    Like

Leave a Reply

