What we can learn from wee ones

Spring finally feels like it is here. It seems like all of April and most of May were filled with cold, nasty, rainy, and generally not very Spring-in-Alabama like weather. This spring sort of illustrates my life over the course of the new year. It was dreary and sad and not very fun…and then suddenly all of the work I had put into change has finally born fruit. The roses finally bloomed.

DSC02513

Not that I don’t enjoy spreadsheets, and numbers and a generally stressful environment…but you can only do that for so long. Last week, actually a week today, I had my first day at the new job. I have my own class of 3 year olds in the afternoons. They are cute, cuddly, fussy, opinionated, and exactly what I needed. In the fall I will move into the nursery, but for now 13 budding new people and I are taking a summer journey. I think I am probably learning far more than they are, but I hope to inspire them just a tiny bit. Here are a few things that you can learn from little ones.

1. Always, Always, Always smile. Smiling will dry up useless tears, Even when they fight with each other, or don’t like some certain rule, they might cry for a few minutes, but then they just keep on smiling.

2. Always get back up again. You haven’t seen anything, until you have seen a 3 year old fall, and I mean face-plant it, and get right back up and keep running like nothing happens. Sometimes as adults, when we fall, it hurts like hell, and we just want to stay on the ground, but not those kids.

3. Everyone can be an astronaut, or explorer, or pirate. We can be whatever we put our minds to. Kids don’t think about the needless details. Why should we? We are only ever as limited as we think we are.

4. Use the voices when  you read! One thing I started almost immediately after getting this class was classroom reading. I think it is important to read to them. A lot of them can recognize letters and this process can help with that. Plus, they love it. Especially if you can read with enthusiasm and all the proper voices. Next week will be Amelia Badelia and Bernstein Bears.

5. Don’t cry over spilled milk, or spilled anything. The spills don’t matter. Everything spills, everything stains at some point. Clean it up and move on.

I’m sure there will be more to come later.

Go hang out with a wee one. I guarantee you will learn something.

Jessie

4 thoughts on “What we can learn from wee ones

  1. Greеtinցѕ from Ohіo! I’m bored at work so I deccided
    to browse your site on my ipɦone during lunch break.
    I lοve tɦе knowledge you presennt here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.

    I’m surprised at how fast your Ьlog loaded on my phone ..
    I’m not eѵen usіng WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, great site!

    Like

  2. Dоes your site have a contact page? I’m ɦaving a
    tough time locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email.
    I’ve gօt some suggestions for yоur blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, greɑt blog and I look forward to seeing it expanԁ over time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

