Pinterest sewing project: Rectangle skirt

I know that most everyone loves Pinterest. Recently I have been trying to actually make something from my boards there. Enter the rectangle skirt. I let my sister pick something she wanted me to make from my sewing board and this is what she picked.

Rectangle skirt tutorial

rectangle skirt

So I took about 2 yards of fabric, cut a hold in the middle for the waist, hemmed it, and added the elastic. I didn’t hem the bottom because the fabric I chose didn’t really need it.

DSC02523          

Front view

             DSC02525

My gorgeous sister modeling her new skirt.

DSC02526

and a side view.

The next time I will probably use a lighter fabric, but I think it turned out well.

Now the total making time was about 20 minutes, it would have been longer if I had hemmed the bottom. The total cost was

$1.00 for elastic

$2.00 for fabric (on sale at the Walmart)

$0.25 Thread

Total: $3.25

Pretty awesome I think.

What have you all been working on?

Jessie

8 thoughts on “Pinterest sewing project: Rectangle skirt

  1. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs
    I stumbleupon on a daily basis. It will always be exciting to read articles from other writers
    and practice a little something from their websites.

    Like

Comments are closed.