Perspective in this New Year

steven and I

It is 2014, I am 24 years old and I am coming to the conclusion that I have a problem with perspective. My problem probably stems from the fact that most things that are so important to most people completely sail right by me. I don’t have cable, I don’t even have an antenna…I don’t want one either. I am not overly influenced by commercials and I have no clue what the latest fad is. I will never pay $300 for a name brand tshirt no matter if it is organic and handmade…if I fall in love with it that much I will make it myself. I don’t buy my jeans at American Eagle, I typically get them at the thrift store for $3. I don’t give a shit about Alabama football and I really have no idea what a Kardashian is or why it is famous. It is 2014 and I am 24 years old and I think I need to reevaluate what is important and what I should be doing versus what I should not be doing. This is not to say that I think I should suddenly become a pop culture aficionado. Or that I should suddenly dye my hair blonde and pretend to be less intelligent than I am …However I do need to figure out what I do and do not like about myself and actually change the not so good parts.

I just can’t journal..If I could I would be writing this rather than typing it. I think I have forgotten or worked so much that I lost what I actually enjoyed. That is my goal for this new year, figure out myself. At least a little. And be happier. I am only going to live once, and it might be a short life so why not know..instead of guess…why not be sure instead of worry..

Happy Friday everyone

J

Leave a Reply

