Scrap Stash Musings: DIY Mushroom Home tutorial

Good Morning!!

I love a scrappy project and today I am publishing my first pattern. Hopefully you all will like it as much as I did. It is a fun project. It could be a key chain, a child’s toy, an ornament, or whatever. I tend to not label my projects. I think they find their own homes.

Step 1. Download my Awesome Pattern! This is my first one to ever make myself so if you guys have any suggestions I would love to hear them.

DSC03310Step 2. After you get the pattern pieces cut out its time to choose your scraps and felt to make this cute little mushroom house happen. I used some of my hugemongous stash of black felt and some pink scraps that I had in my stash.

DSC03312Step 3. Cut all your pieces out.

Cut all the pattern pieces out as well as the small circles for the mushroom cap and door handle. You will also need a piece for the top tab if you are going to include one.

Step 4: Sew down your mushroom cap spots! This is sort of a fun part to me. I used black thread on black spots and instead of sewing the edges I sewed them down with a star pattern.

DSC03326

Step 5: Sew down the door and windows. I used regular stitches on the door and door hand and then I used a long straight stitch on the window.

DSC03327Step 6: This step is not necessary but I really liked it. I took some tiny seed beads, sewed five down in a circle pattern for a flower and added green stems and leaves with DMC floss. This was an easy, but neat little detail. It took about 10 extra minutes.

DSC03325Step 7: Sew the two pieces of the house part together leaving the top open.

DSC03332

Step 8: Stuff the house part of the mushroom.

DSC03333

Step 9: Sew the top half of your mushroom together with the tag inserted so that it looks something like this.

DSC03328

Step 11: You can either sew your two pieces together or hot glue them together. I used a combination of the two methods and here is the result!

DSC03335

Tada!

After I finished I really didn’t like the seam line so I added some black ric rac and I think I really like the finished piece.All together it took between an hour and an hour and a half. I wrote the tutorial and took pictures while I was making this and so it took about 2 hours with all of that.

DSC03340 DSC03342

Please leave a comment, share on Facebook, or twitter or pin on pinterest. I have a board for my Scrap Stash Projects and I would love for ya’ll to follow it.

J

Leave a Reply

