It’s that time Marshmellows! Review of the Veronica Mars movie

Hello Marshmellows,

I just took a trip down memory lane and I have got to say I am so happy about it. This is nostalgia as its very best. The Veronica Mars movie will only get one complaint from me: It was too short! I absolutely loved it. It was a movie, by the fans, for the fans and it was also true to the Veronica from our beloved series. I think everyone has heard the story, but in case you missed it, this incredible movie was a product of a Kickstarter campaign. All of the money was raised by fans (like me) because they wanted to see a real conclusion, or at least a continuation of a show that taught us so much and was cut way too short.

Veronica-Mars

We see Veronica again in a short montage, mostly featuring season three content to catch up those of us that had not been compulsively re-watching the series for all of February and March. Then we meet present day Veronica, extremely successful, and every bit as sarcastic. She is about to take the bar exam and become a corporate lawyer protecting those huge companies that she spent her PI days making more honest. She is once again dating Piz. She is living the high life in New York.  She just completed an ivy league education. And to top it all off, she is bored.

Honestly at this point I am thinking that this Veronica is so awful and a complete departure from her earlier self. Luckily Logan calls her up to ask for her help beating a murder rap on his freshly dead girlfriend, and fellow Neptune High graduate, Carrie Bishop. She heads back to Neptune, just for a few days, she tell Piz, which ends up encompassing her high school reunion and several key Neptune events that all coincide with the murder of Carrie Bishop. Everything is connected, as per usual, and at the center of it is the Neptune Police Department. While Veronica is doing her thing uncovering secrets we learn that Logan has cleaned himself up, joined the Airforce, and become an actual respectable adult. This is where I am going to rant a little.

Before I watched the movie I read the piece on why Piz was the better choice for Veronica, which is crap. I suspected it was crap when I read it, but then I watched the movie and knew it was crap. Whatever we might have said about young Logan, this new Logan is all grown up. I don’t want to to disrespect the writer of the piece, but again I completely could not disagree more.

End Rant

Veronica Mars, back when the series was fresh, and now when they are doing a movie after a long pause, is all about empowerment. Veronica is a girl, then a woman, who can damn well do whatever she puts her mind to. Instead of giving in to the mean girl syndrome or caving to peer pressure and pretending she only has three brain cells to rub together, Veronica is smart and sassy and determined and not afraid to flaunt that in the face of whoever tries to put her in a corner. Veronica is the female empowerment role model I would want my daughters to idolize and the woman we could all learn something from.

All in all the movie was really worth watching. It was worth the money I paid Amazon for the digital copy because it wasn’t showing in my home town. It is very re-watchable and it is a must have for long time fans of the series. The movie did not disappoint. I have a tiny amount of hope that Veronica might come back to us in some form or another. Check out the movie and let me know what you think!

 

J

3 thoughts on “It’s that time Marshmellows! Review of the Veronica Mars movie

  1. There’s a book that came out, the week after the movie titled Veronica Mars: The Thousand Dollar Tan Line written by Rob Thomas and Jennifer Graham.

    Like

Leave a Reply

