Scrap Stash Musings: Quilted Pin Cushion Tutorial

Step 1: Decide on what fabrics that you want to use. This is a fluid tutorial and it is a fluid project. You can add or subtract things as you feel like it. It does not have to be a certain way. I would advise picking one piece as your base. I chose a 5″x10″ rectangle of pink floral scrap material.

DSC03275

Step 2: Once I had my base I cut out a scrap piece of felt and sewed it down onto it.

Step 3: I then pinned down strip onto my original piece:

DSC03277 DSC03278

And then I cut and pinned some more:

DSC03279

Step 4: Sew the pieces down

DSC03288 DSC03292

Step 5: I added a bit of ric rac and you can ad any decorations you wish.

DSC03295

Step 6: Sew the sides together leaving one end open to stuff

Step 7: Stuff your pin cushion. I stuffed mine with steel wool and tiny scrap fabric pieces

 

IDSC03299 DSC03300

 

Step 8: fold your ends under and sew the end closed.

 

 

 

DSC03301

And voila! Easy peasy lemon squeazy.

DSC03304

 

2 thoughts on “Scrap Stash Musings: Quilted Pin Cushion Tutorial

    • It keep the pins sharp, or so they say. You can use steel wool or a variety of other filling in conjunction with other filling such as fabric scraps, fluffy stuff, sand,…I’ve even heard of people using dried recycled coffee grounds.

      Thanks for the question!

      Like

Leave a Reply

