Stretching Pennies: Refashioned pillow case tote bag!

 

I haven’t done a refashion in a while and this seemed like a good time. This is going to be a Stretching Pennies refashion. I decided to make a tote bag to wrap my sisters birthday gifts. I already had the pillow case from a set of sheets that have long since worn out in the washer and gone on to better things, like the pair of pajama pants I made for the husband many moons ago. This is a simple tutorial for the bag. Let me know what you all think!DSC03481

1. First you will need to pick out a pillow case, any will do. Once you have your pillow case picked out decide how much you want to box the corners. There are great tutorials out there for that technique but here is a quick refresher.

2. Box the corners!

DSC03480

Turn your pillow case wrong side out and find the bottom corner seems. From there you measure down the side seems however much you want to box the corners. I did four inches, which is a lot but that is what I was feeling at the moment. At the four inch mark you want to gather the material with your bottom seam matching up with the side seem and pin the triangle that you are going to sew down and cut off.

As demonstrated here

:DSC03479

One you sew them down cut the triangles off and throw them in your scrap box.

3. Now turn your bag right side out and it should look something like this.

DSC03484

4. From there you can cut it down to whatever size you wish.

DSC03485

5. You will then need to sew the top seem down.

DSC03493

6. And now you can add straps. I made straps out of material that I had sitting around, or you can use ribbon or the leftovers from your pillow case to make them.  Once your straps are sewn down you are done!

DSC03494

Simple and easy!

Next week I will be showing you all my first adventures in applique on this bag. Here is the completed and appliqued project.

DSC03505 DSC03503

What do ya’ll think?

J

7 thoughts on “Stretching Pennies: Refashioned pillow case tote bag!

  1. Does your site have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d
    like to send you an email. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog
    you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website
    and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Scrap Stash Musings: Foray into Applique | The Creative Ginger Tree

  3. Hi there! This post couldn’t be written much better! Reading through this post reminds me of my
    previous roommate! He continually kept talking about this.
    I most certainly will send this post to him.
    Pretty sure he’ll have a great read. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

