Unleashing our Inner Creative Genius 2014 Part 2

Good morning!

As I mentioned before I am posting a series of posts about creativity and how we are inspired and what inspires me. The first post in the series can be found here. I hope that today’s steps toward creativity are helpful to you!

       images

Step 4: Pinterest
If the coffee, fresh air and blog surfing just aren’t helping try Pinterest! Now, this is not a license to copy every idea you see from Pinterest, but it is a great place to be inspired. If you just can’t seem to get in the crafting mood, go there. Check it out. It is full of great ideas and tons of resources for the cleverly crafty mind. I love to discover new pinners that inspire and new boards to follow. When I have a blogging topic that I want to work on I usually make a board to go with it. And don’t forget to pin those blog posts that you find inspiring.

496ba82f012c7409af2a7f8311a408a7

Step 5: A Clean Workspace
Alright, so I am the worst about this. I literally have fabric, buttons, beads and every other crafty implement to be imagined everywhere in my house. Granted most of it is semi organized, but my sewing station needs to be put back into a semblance order. Having a clean, organized, crafting space is a must. I know that I am much more inclined to make something new if I don’t feel I have to dread the clean-up process from 10 old projects. Don’t let that stuff pile up! If you just can’t finish right now have a place to put the projects that you are working on. If you have a ton of drafts of blog posts just waiting to be finish, prioritize and finish. Get help with one of the tons of blog calendars out there. I am starting the planning out process more firmly now and I love having an idea of what I want to right about weeks in advance.

Step 6: Try something new or finish something old!
These may sound like conflicting ends of the spectrum but hear me out. Every time I set a project aside when I come back to it that is the most satisfying feeling in the world to complete it. When I am stuck, I find that trying something new is great for inspiring me to do things that I might not otherwise do with the crafting mediums I normally use. Go try a different coffee than you normally drink or write on a topic that you don’t normally write on or go someplace that you have never been in your familiar home town. Try out that new restaurant or go to a different grocery store. Just get out of your comfort zone. Watch a movie that you originally wrote off as being terrible. Try a new author. If you don’t like it then you can always go back to the old favorites.

So what inspires you out of your creative funks?

3 thoughts on “Unleashing our Inner Creative Genius 2014 Part 2

  1. Howdy this is kinda of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs
    use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with
    HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding know-how so I
    wanted to get advice from someone with experience.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Unleashing our Inner Creative Genius 2014 Part 3 | The Creative Ginger Tree

Leave a Reply

