Scrap Stash Musings: Foray into Applique

DSC03505

Last week we made a bag. Here is the tutorial

This week I am going to dip my toes into the world of applique. To use up those scraps and add something nice to this bag that I made for the sister.

1. I first decided on what scrap fabric I was going to use, and then decided on a cat. I just free hand cut the cat out. If there is a lot of interest I will make a pattern for the cat.

DSC03474

2. After cutting the cat out I went ahead and put a face on the kitty cat!

Here is the nose and mouth:

DSC03487

This is just an upside down felt heart, and a hand stitched mouth.

Here are the whiskers:

DSC03498

I free hand stitched the whiskers

And finally the eyes:

DSC03497

I went with a yellow and green theme here.

Here is the finished face:

DSC03495

3. Next, I cut out the piece of Heat and bond lite and ironed our cat down.

DSC03502

4. The last part is the trickiest. I had to pick a stitch and stitch the cat to the bag. I picked a loose zig zag.

DSC03504

Here is the finished product. What do you think?

J

 

2 thoughts on “Scrap Stash Musings: Foray into Applique

Leave a Reply

