Summer lovin: My top movie picks to get you ready for Summer

Summer is such a unique time of year. To me it is filled with sunshine, new growth, blooming flowers, sandy beaches, walks in the park, swimming in the creek, and floating down the river. These are the things that I live for. Some people may love Spring, Fall or Winter…. but I love Summer. In honor of the impending summer here are a few movies/shows that help me to get in the Summer frame of mind.

dirty dancing

1. Dirty Dancing

This is my all time favorite summer movie. I love it! I love Baby and Johnny. Baby is an idealistic young women who just wants to change the world by going to college and joining the peace core. Johnny is a charismatic young man with a talent for dancing that has been hardened by a hard life. I mean who hasn’t wanted to join the peace core at some point in their youth? This is a great movie for getting into swing of summer. It is full of dancing, and laughter and it is just plain great.

 

2. Safe Haven

While Safe Haven has its darker moments, at its very core it is about finding a new life, and being at peace with the old life. I love the setting, right on the beach and I love the actors and the characters that they portray. It is a great movie to get you thinking about small towns, out of the way stops, and summer vacations. Haven’t we all wanted to just hop on a bus and see where it takes us? It is one of the few Nicholas Sparks films that I recommend.

3. Lilo and Stitch

I love Stitch! He is the cutest, most destructive little critter imaginable. This movie is all about the surf and sand and laid back summer attitude. Nothing puts me in the mood for summer like this movie can. Lilo is the little kid that doesn’t quite fit in, but she loves to have fun and laugh and surf and swim. Summer is all about the fun and the water they we are having it near.

4. The Goonies!

Whats not to love about the Goonies? The Goonies is set at the end of the summer. It features adventure, a little romance, a lot of laughs and all the aspects of summer that make it my favorite season. “Goonies never say die”. The Goonies title refers to a group of friends. Each guy in the group is sort of a stereotypical personality type. There is a mouthy kid called “Mouth”, a horribly funny, tech genius, who just happens to be Asian named nicknamed Data, a large child with a little pudge called “Chunk”. There are hilarious nicknames, awful exercise clothes and typical 80’s hair. It is beautiful. This movie puts you in the mood to go seek out buried treasure in some unexplored part of the world. It is all about the misadventures we get ourselves into when we aren’t in school or work or otherwise distracted.

There are a ton of others, but I after watching these I hope you are ready to go out and take on a summer adventure of your own. Find a new love, make some new friends, reconnect with old friends, and bask in the sun!

 

Leave a Reply

