Father Abraham…Had many…somethings

So VBS is now in the past. For those of you not raised in the deep south, that is Vacation Bible School. Basically children come to church for three, four, or five days or nights in a row for a few hours and learn bible stories, silly songs, and make cool crafts and eat awesome food. This is great. It is a ton of fun…and it is absolutely exhausting….for me. I am the one in charge of making sure the ship sails smoothly.

 

DSC_0011This is one of the better pictures. I might as well have planted a cot in my office or brought a pillow and camped out on the couch. I was pretty much here all the time. It went great though. We had about 75 registered, which is a stupendous number. That picture was more toward the beginning…Here is my at the end getting ready to head out to the waterslide.

SONY DSC

Taken without my knowledge, if you cant tell. It was a heck of a week. It really was great though. From this experience and the ongoing Summer Series that we have going on right now I have a few nuggets of wisdom for managing large groups of children and volunteers.

1. Don’t take yourself, or what you are doing too seriously.

I am not always the best at this, in fact sometimes I completely fail to meet this goal and I get very worked up over a certain aspect of an event, but for the most part I try to adapt a laid back positive attitude.

2. Don’t forget the coffee.

Don’t expect to get much sleep in the summer. That is my new motto. If I thought I was going to get to lay back and relax…I was wrong. I have been working double hours and coming in long before everyone else just to keep up with these events. Coffee is my lifesaver.

3. Take pictures

Some of the cutest moments with peoples kids happen away from the  parents these days and parents wan’t to see that kids are having fun.

4. You have five minutes to get any one point across.

If you can’t teach or show children whatever it is you want to get them to remember or understand and you can’t do it with a song and dance or within five minutes you need to change your message.

I hope someone out there has been inspired!

Jessie

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

