Film Review: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2014

I am a child of the 1990’s. I actually take a lot of pride in this fact.I grew up watching Dragon Ball Z, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Power Rangers, and all the other awesome shows that were insanely popular at the time.My brother was  Michelangelo for Halloween, and I was the Pink Power Ranger. We played with turtle action figures and the TMNT van. We watched the turtles movies over and over again. I can still tell the difference between each turtle. I’m a fan. When I saw that they were rebooting the series I was pretty excited,Then I saw the actors, which was a pretty good list (other than Megan Fox), but it is a Michael Bay film so I was a little skeptical.

My brother called me up last night and offered to take me to the movies with him and I have learned to never pass up a free ticket and so off we went. It was billed as a kid friendly film, which is fine. I love all kinds of movies and the original turtles were kid friendly, but still hilarious. Pretty much from the very beginning of the movie my skepticism steadily turned into full on dismay. Where were my beloved Turtles? Were was the broody Raph, the comical Mikey, the geeky Don and the way too serious Leo? Honestly there was very little of the new turtles that could even be connected to the characters I know and love. Bay got the stereotypes, but not the soul. I wanted to love this movie, but it wasn’t looking like a possibility.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Quote Poster by WoodPanelBasement, $19.99

Then there was April O’Neil. I was a bigger fan of the turtles than April O’Neil as a little girl but as I grew older I came to really admire the spunk and tenacity of the lovely reporter. She was fearless, and stylish, and a mess at times, but she had a great heart. She also went after the story. Megan Fox as April O’Neil was not something I looked forward to but nothing could have prepared me for the terrible characterization that was brought into this movie. She snapped pictures with her Iphone and skyped her interviews and wined and was a little crazy. It was really painful to watch. This movie was not particularly funny or entertaining. Perhaps if you haven’t seen the original films you might be able to enjoy it but my advice is to go and buy the originals on Amazon. They are currently cheaper than the movie ticket.

Leave a Reply

