Thrifty Thursday: One Person’s Trash or a Complete Chair Makeover

If there is one thing I have learned in my 24 years on this earth other than to never start a land war in Asia, and that somethings do not taste better the next day,it is that you should never overlook something just because someone else has thrown it out.

Take this chair for instance

IMG_0998

This chair was relegated to someone’s curb for pick up because it is obviously trash right? I mean real wood, sturdy construction, but obviously too ugly to be made nice again, but I saw something in it that I just had to take home and explore. So home with me the ugly chair went. Now obviously the paint job was bad. I mean what is with that drab grey color. I see it a lot. Who actually paints anything this color thinking it will be a good idea. The other problem was that it was positively filthy. You could barely see the ugly paint for all the grime and spill residue.

IMG_0999

IMG_1000

A good two hours of cleaning and sanding and I was ready to paint. I’ve pretty much decided that all my furniture should be bright and happy and fun looking.

I ended up with a gray and blue. I wanted to distress the chair once I had it painted so the two colors are for a purpose. I painted on two layers of gray and it looked like a completely different chair. I almost didn’t continue with the blue, but after two layers of blue I was glad that I did. After some sanding, and glossing I think this chair looks like a completely different piece of furniture.

IMG_1033 IMG_1035 IMG_1034

Now for the costs. I had to buy the paint because I didn’t have the colors I wanted at home, but it took very little of the paint to paint these chairs so I have plenty to work on the shelf I am painting this week.

Paint – Approximately $4.00

Sandpaper – $2.00

Chair – Free

All in all I got this awesome chair for $6.00 and some elbow grease.

One person’s trash is indeed another person’s treasure.

IMG_1036

 

5 thoughts on “Thrifty Thursday: One Person’s Trash or a Complete Chair Makeover

Leave a Reply

