Thrifty Thursday: Be on the lookout!

I am a thrift store shopper. It is part addiction, part personality trait, part survival instinct. This has been especially true in prepping for the arrival of my bundle of squirmy joy due in a little over 4 months.  My Tightwadery truly knows no bounds.

This week I found some majorly awesome things.

I got a clear plastic storage tub, which I direly needed to make putting my possessions in storage to accommodate new baby easier.

Price: $1.00

I got several baby clothing items for $0.25 a piece.

IMG_1484 IMG_1485

I’ve been keeping track of what I needed versus what I have with my handy dandy spreadsheet that I will talk more about later in a future post.

IMG_1482 IMG_1483

I got three pairs of baby shoes for the little monster to stomp around in which are in excellent shape for $1.50 a piece. My advice when buying for baby or toddler. If you are going to get it used, be sure it is something they will use, and that it is in good enough condition to withstand a few months/years worth of wear and possibly be passed down from sibling to sibling.

Thus far I have been resisting buying Maternity pants. Mostly because they are almost all ugly, overpriced, and just ew. I found these just sort of by chance in my usual glance over of the maternity section of the thrift store (which is only about 2ft of rack space sadly). They are Motherhood, which means I could consign them later if I don’t wear them to pieces like I generally do with clothes.

They were a wopping $3.00

IMG_1490

Probably the things I am most excited about are the four Baby Einstein tapes I picked up. I realize tapes are outdated and so on and so forth, but I have a VHS player and I am not above using it. Especially since they were $1.00 a piece.

Altogether I spent $15.00.

After a little research I discovered that an equivalent pair of shoes to the pair I found for $1.50 from Stride Rite are at least $40.00

I feel good about my day of shopping.

The thrifty tip of the day:

Always have a running inventory of the things you are going to need or currently need in your head or in your purse so that you can reference it when out and about. This helps to pick up on the various deals that you might otherwise miss.

If you haven’t already, click on the picture below to enter the Winter 2015 giveaway!

winter image

Leave a Reply

