Pinterest Worthy Projects: Nursery name letters

I’ve been working on mostly baby projects lately since young Carl will be here before I know it. One easy and fairly inexpensive project I undertook was to customize these plain wooden letters.

IMG_1557

I got my letters from Consumer Crafts when they had free shipping a few weeks ago. They are about 4″ tall and were $0.49 a piece.

Materials needed:

Wooden letters

Sand paper

paint

decorative paper

modge podge

sealent

paint brushes

After you have gathered your materials and purchased your letters the first thing you need to do is sand the letters down. I decided to paint and distress my letters prior to decoupaging them so I used two different colors of paint that match the theme of the nursery. We are using distressed blue over dark brown in our nursery so those are the colors I chose.  And on goes the first layer of paint!

IMG_1560

Once the first color is on well you can add color number 2.

IMG_1575 IMG_1572

I really like this blue!

Once I got all of that on I took the sandpaper and lightly distressed the letters which is completely unnecessary.

Next you will need to pick your decorative paper or fabric. I used maps from an old atlas. I picked different maps for different places I wanted Carl to visit that start with the letters of his name, like Russia for “R” and Africa for “A”.

When your are ready to decoupage put a thin layer of modge podge on the right side of the letter or the side that will be facing up and place it face down on the paper or fabric then flip it over and smooth out all air pockets and bubbles.

IMG_1577  

IMG_1576

After I did this for each letter I place a book on top of it to help it dry flat and without air pockets. When they were dry I used an exacto knife to cut away all the excess paper. Then I used Modge Podge on the top and then a sealent. I haven’t yet decided how to mount them, but I really love the way they turned out.

IMG_1586

IMG_1584

What baby projects have you undertaken?

2 thoughts on “Pinterest Worthy Projects: Nursery name letters

Leave a Reply

