Fifty Shades of Grey: A short review

I’ve avoided the whole Fifty shades of Grey controversy mostly because despite whatever I might feel about it I just didn’t particularly want to argue. I’m tired and pregnant and people are judgmental and silly and will get mad over absolutely anything. Having said all of that I have read the books (several times, cause I am reader and I read everything several times) and I saw the movie. If you haven’t done either of those things please stuff your opinion where the sun doesn’t shine because it is worthless. That would be like me giving an opinion on Dr. Who beyond that I watched one episode, didn’t care for it, and don’t think I will be picking it up again any time soon.

Now that all of that is out of way I’ll share with you my thoughts on the movie adaptation. The book is better. That is true of nearly everything from the Harry Potter and Percy Jackson movies to Angels and Demons. The book is inevitably better because we can all individually use our imaginations and fit what we are reading within our own experiences. Having said that, the movie did stay true to most of the premises of the book. Fifty shades has the same problem that most book to movies have in that you can’t hear the internal dialogue of the characters. The actors they picked for Ana and Christian are great, but you still can’t hear Ana’s internal struggle or Christian’s and that is a vital part of understanding the characters. About an hour into the movie I had three simultaneous thoughts:

I wish there was more dialogue cause they are really good at that

This would be awkward to watch with my mother or brother

She didn’t shave…which is true to the book

The scenes where Ana and Christian are just being Ana and Christian are the best. The scenes where they have sex are sometimes sweet and good, sometimes awkward, and at other times painful to witness. To be fair this was true to the book as well. I think the next movie will be better because the first book and movie end on a cliff hanger and I will go into the theater knowing what to expect and hopefully they will learn to stick with the dialogue heavy scenes and skip some of the sex. I prefer to read my smutt.

Will I watch this movie again? Yeah

I give it a 4 out of 5.

Later, when I feel like getting on my soap box I will share with you all my other Fifty Shades related opinions. ;-P

Did you all see it? If so what did you think?

4 thoughts on “Fifty Shades of Grey: A short review

  1. I haven’t seen the movie. I have read the books, and they weren’t my favorite–but the part I liked the best were Ana’s internal dialogues with the goddess and more practical side. I thought that was quirky. Also, I agree on not watching it with your mother. My mom’s church small group read it (I know, I know, don’t get me started) and I even refused to discuss is with her. 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

