Wrong side of History

Last I checked it was 2015.

Interestingly enough I have seen and heard some things lately that make me wonder if it isn’t really 1960 and someone just told me it was 2015 to be funny. The recent protests on the state capitol because our backwards judge Roy Moore made headlines for telling judges not to marry same sex couples being one thing that makes me wonder what year this actually is.

Just who is Judge Roy Moore? Well other than just generally being an ass hole here are a few facts about the man. He is, as far as I am aware, the only Chief Justice, that after being forcibly removed from his office after serving only 2 years of an 8 year term back in the early 2000’s was re-elected in 2012 for that exact same office. I’m hoping if he keeps being a horses ass the Alabama Judiciary Board will remove him again and I won’t ever have to be so ashamed of my fellow Alabamians for re-electing him. I personally voted against him in 2012. However, I was in the tiny minority. He was voted in by more that 80%.

Judge Roy Moore founded, along with his wife who is currently president, something called the Foundation for Moral Law. According to their website, the FML mission statement is:

     The Foundation for Moral Law exists to restore the knowledge of God in law and government and to acknowledge and defend the truth that man is endowed with rights, not by our fellow man, but by God! Please partner with us to achieve this important mission.

I have no real idea what knowledge of God has to do with upholding the laws of the any state, much less the state of Alabama but when you see some of the other things he is famous for you will understand the fanatical connection I am sure. The next thing we hear about Judge Roy Moore he is being removed from the Alabama Supreme Court for refusing to remove a copy of the ten commandments that he installed in the courthouse rotunda in 2011.

The first time I really heard much about Roy Moore other than the famous Ten Commandments stunt was from my sister. She participated in a program called Teen Pact, which we learned a little too late was basically Right Wing indoctrination camp. I would never, ever, in a million years have sent her to it had I realized that before hand. I participated in the Presidential classroom program in my teens and that was amazing. I thought it was just something like that. Anyway, during her program she got to meet him and frankly, even at 15, my sister realized he was a homophobic fanatic. She came home and told me basically that.

He has had many such famous moments of awful since coming back into power in 2012. Most famously recently is that he told Alabama judges not to issue same-sex marriage licenses. According to many quotes from the man himself, homosexuality is a horrible sin and should therefor be illegal. Here’s my problem, well one of them, since when is it ok for a politician to bring their personal religion into politics, much less a Chief Justice of a State to bring his own twisted version of Christianity into his supposedly impartial ruling as the Chief Justice in the state.

When young Carl is learning about history many years down the road, alongside the famous image of Governor Wallace blocking the passage of African American students, will be Roy Moore shouting from the height of the state capital that homosexuality is a sin and should therefor be illegal. I’m afraid you are on “the wrong side of history” Judge Moore. May you stick around just long enough to realize it.

You can learn a little more about Judge Roy Moore here and here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

