The fast food generation

I am not going to jump on my soap box for what will hopefully only be a minute:

Maybe its just my generation, or maybe this is a common thread that moves through time in all generations of all people but I personally am sick of seeing people buy things, adopt animals, run through sexual partners and relationships, serially date, or stuff their face because they believe some small inconsequential and momentary thing or act or person or animal will fill all the gaps and be the the thing that “makes them happy”. How silly is that really? I mean I understand wanting the instant gratification of a good snuggle, or playing with a puppy, or having sex, or eating a tub of ice cream. It feels good. It makes us feel good for about 15 minutes. But what happens after that?

I have watched so many people that I really care about go from relationship to relationship and find no fulfillment. Worse than that is that those relationships tend to be abusive or unhealthy. When we are looking for that next thing to make us happy we sometimes lose sight of our own personal standards or forget that we have intrinsic self worth and don’t have to put up with crappy treatment.  If we can’t find joy in being alone we will never be able to find it with another person added into the mix.

I’m by no means perfect, but even if someone treats me like poo I know it has very little to do with me and more to do with the other person (generally speaking). What happened to treating others the way we want to be treated. Apparently most people skipped that episode of sesame street.

 

 

Leave a Reply

