Thrifty Thursday – Old to New!

I admit it. I spend a lot of time pursuing Pinterest for ideas for various things. One of the things I found recently was this neat trend of preserving babies things in shadow boxes like this one:

birth-boxes-11This one is from Taking Care of Monkey Business

I decided I wanted to do one for Carl. The only problem is that I am horribly thrifty. Some of these shadow boxes run up to $20 which is way more than I intend to pay. I kept looking for one at garage sales and thrift stores to no end and finally I came across this at a garage sale a few weeks ago.

11885271_10100402567839455_6771974116107603165_n

Awful right?

I’ve always thought these things were rather terrible. As you can see it was a clock so I took the perfectly working clock mechanism out to be used for later. After some thorough cleaning because this had developed a little dirt and the glass was cloudy I got to work. I wrapped the footprints background in some cute baby friendly fabric. Then I proceeded to pick out the cute things I wanted to preserve. It turned out like this.

11898561_10100402561207745_1353865965894104083_nn

Sorry for the blur.

Lesson: Don’t waste your money, be creative!

What have you thrifted this week?

Leave a Reply

