Happiness. Its a thing!

When I was younger, more idealistic and wondering at the supposed marvelous powers of luv, true luv I knew an older woman who I really respected and admired. This lady had been married and divorced. She had two beautiful, talented and exceptionally sweet children that really loved her . I’m sure they had problems. Everyone does. But they seemed really happy. Still, I always worried that she would end up alone after they grew up. I thought, at the time, how sad would that be. This awesome woman raised her kids, really well, and after they left she would be sad and alone and her life would suddenly be unfulfilled.

What bullshit.

Of course at the time I had no idea it was bullshit. I thought I was generally on the right path with the idea that we are all driven to companionship in order to be happy. Turns out in order to be happy there are a lot of different factors that come into play and sometimes the biggest of those is that we are not saddled to another human being. For me happiness is a choice that I wake up every day and decide to make. I’m going to be happy today. Period. If there is no money, my power bill is late and I have a crappy day at work I can still find a reason to be cheerful about something. I mean I have a freakin cute baby.

IMG_2305

I know so many ladies in their 30’s and 40’s, some who have children and a lot who don’t that are really happy all on their own. Some own their own homes, some have careers they love, some just rent and others really don’t care for their jobs but they are all happy.

Lets try this happy thing.

Leave a Reply

